Skip to content Skip to menu

Students and staff celebrate success

Last night Eastleigh College, currently ranked third in the country for student satisfaction, celebrated another successful year with an exciting Annual Awards ceremony. College students, staff, governors and representatives from industry gathered together at Eastleigh’s premier venue, the Concorde Club, to celebrate the exceptional achievements of students and staff over the past twelve months.

A variety of awards were presented throughout the evening which highlight exceptional student achievement. Student of the Year winner Carmen Darminin commented, “It’s an exceptional feeling and an amazing achievement to know that I’ve been picked from thousands of other students. I’m so happy.”

Guests at the event watched videos which described the life-changing impact the College has had on each nominee and how the College has given each student the opportunity to achieve more than they thought they could. Also in attendance were a range of industry representatives who were keen to show their support to the students. Sponsors included, NatWest, HBS Group, NCFE, Knowhow, VTCT, Advanced Engineering and Twinings.

Among the students, staff were also recognised for their exceptional teaching, support and guidance provided to students, which has enabled them to achieve their chosen goals. Alan Head, Gas and Plumbing Lecturer won this year’s Teacher of the Year award and comments on his winning title, “I’m incredibly honoured and humbled to be awarded for what I consider just doing my job.”

NCFE sponsored the Award for Exceptional Progression and Clarissa Harrington, New Business Manager at NCFE highlights, “We enjoy sponsoring these awards because they are in line with our charitable aims about learner progression, and they are a fantastic way to support and share the celebration of learner achievement. These learners absolutely deserve to celebrate, and we are honoured to share this event with them.”

Dr Jan Edrich, Chief Executive and Principal at Eastleigh College added “This event is a personal highlight of the academic year and is a great opportunity to showcase the success of our students. Congratulations to all the winners and runners up, they really are special and should know we are proud of their achievements.”

Congratulations to all our award winners:


Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by HBS Group – Elliott Pace

Award for Exceptional Progression, sponsored by NCFE – Dominic Mayes

GEM Award – Aaron Thomas

Governor’s Prize for Outstanding Achievement, sponsored by Knowhow – Timothy McNally

Student of the Year, sponsored by VTCT – Carmen Darminin

Tony Brooks Award, sponsored by Advanced Engineering – Stephen Taylor

Work Experience Student of the Year, sponsored by Natwest – Maddie Bailey

HE Student of the Year – Frances Davison

Margaret Kyrle Prize – Oliver James

David Baird Prize – Baiba Akule

Teacher of the Year, sponsored by Twinings – Alan Head


Runner’s up:

Apprentice of the Year– Dan Lapworth

Award for Exceptional Progression– Tom Williamson

GEM Award – Charlie Toomer

Governor’s Prize for Outstanding Achievement – Colin Ellins

Student of the Year – Chloe Daniels

Tony Brooks Award – Luke Trevatt

Work Experience Student of the Year– Amber Jones

HE Student of the Year – Kate Dicks

Margaret Kyrle Prize – Chelsea Lloyd-Jones

Teacher of the Year – Greg Cheeseman